2015 Georgia AAUW State Convention Report

Lisa Maatz

Cobb County AAUW members came out in force to host and enjoy the Friday evening reception at the Hilton Garden Inn. There were 30 convention attendees as well as Lisa Maatz from national and Carmita McCall from Florida joining in the shared time with good friends and AAUW colleagues.

The convention program hosted by Bea Piddock and Diane Sakmar was exceptional. Although Macon, Valdosta and the newly formed Milledgeville Branches were unable to send representatives, there were 52 in attendance, which is outstanding.

  • Lisa Maatz, AAUW VP of Government relations, presented an AAUW overview with slides and videos to highlight the focus and direction of the organization.
  • Carmita McCall

    Carmita McCall

    Carmita McCall from Florida (studying at Valdosta State University) came with her program director, Dr. Joy Anderson, and spoke about their Gadsen County Healthy Start Services Program offering services to a very underserved and poor rural population outside of Tallahassee.

  • Betty Slater introduced a panel of 5 students (Emory, Atlanta Metro State College, Georgia State and advisors from Georgia Highlands) engaged the membership with the perspectives of student chapter needs and interactions with branches and AAUW.
  • Marlene Humphry reported on AAUW Funds contribution for GA AAUW and branches. Cobb received several rewards and the overall contribution in 2014 to AAUW funds from Georgia was over $38.000.
  • Laurie Shaw reported on GA AAUW Membership and presented membership awards. The challenge to grow branch membership continues to be a focal point.
  • Following lunch, Lisa Maatz shared public policy stories and personal advocacy experiences that validate her skills as a terrific strategist and speaker.
  • There followed reports on Finance, Communications, and election results for GA AAUW Co-President and Treasurer to serve a two year term. The proposed bylaws change was approved as well (changing number of members serving on nominating committee from 5 to 3.). The voting format was electronically submitted to all members via Survey Monkey.
  • All branches had an opportunity to ‘brag’ about accomplishments this year. The convention provided outstanding speakers and inspiration as well as an opportunity to visit accomplishments of GA AAUW and our branches.
  • Several GA AAUW members are fired up to attend the national convention in San Diego in June. Members are encouraged to vote electronically for the candidates running for national office as well as the bylaws and public policy proposals for this year.
  • Unanimously elected are the new incoming officers for 2015-2017. Joining GA AAUW Co-President Diane Sakmar of Cartersville-Bartow Branch will be incoming Co-President Yetta McMillan of Cobb County Branch as well as Mary Lynn Merkle of Atlanta Branch as treasurer. We look forward to supporting the efforts of GA AAUW leadership in the coming year.
  • Outgoing GA AAUW Co-President, Bea Piddock, was honored for her contributions to the organization.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *